Lessons in Feminism, From my Father.

I do not want to make a duplicate reblog blogsite but this one is notable. I have been advoacting the importance of women in our society because it still has this crazy prejudice of what women are and what they can be. I couldn’t say I am a feminist because I still believe in gender roles and the diversity of it but I couldn’t stress the limiting factor that it gives. I am actually happy that the author’s father is the “advocate” here. It gives more encouragement when the men believes in the capacity of women. And that itself is liberating.

path: ethic.

I remember one time, my parents and I were travelling in the car on the way home from somewhere. I remember travelling in the car with them a lot, when I was young. We lived on a farm, so even going to the local town meant a good 45 minutes in the car. So obviously, to pass the time, we often talked together. One of the interesting things about my memories of these conversations is how many of them were about ideas. We didn’t really talk about what was happening on the farm or at school. We talked about more abstract concepts.

On this particular occasion, Dad was talking about church, and mentioned something he’d said in a sermon. ‘Could I give sermons when I grow up?’ I asked him. ‘Could I be a priest?’

It was the mid-80s. We were Anglican Church-goers, and the idea of women in the…

View original post 897 more words

Share me your thoughts

