Schadenfreude

Schadenfreude (German: [ˈʃaːdənˌfʁɔʏdə]) is pleasure derived from the misfortunes of others. It is the feeling of joy or pleasure when one sees another fail or suffer misfortune.
.

Now that we’re on the age of socially accepted voyeurism, it’s not so uncommon for people to have tendencies to “share” or actually “flaunt” every tiny detail about their lives, suffering included. Personally, I never liked reading someone else’s habitual posts of aches. For some reason I find it tasteless, just as tasteless as Instagram. But of course, I succumbed to this one particular blog of heartaches and sheer folly mainly because I know the people involved. It felt like I was invading a private property, and I wasn’t invited to that place. But as I follow the blog, I get more and more judgmental and I just had to remind myself that that folly is not my goddamn business. I just had to stop and feel sorry about the misfortunes. I was part of the virtual piranhas and as I come into realization, it was also feeding on my own integrity. It sucks and I can’t blame people for making their idiocy accessible to the public view but on my part, it won’t benefit me. Neither would you.

Share me your thoughts

